Still Flirting After All These Years

4 Mar

Just the other night while hanging out with some friends, I was text-flirting with my wife.  They caught me, and tried to tease me mercilessly.  They called us ‘cute’ and ‘adorable’.  Screw them, we are adorable.  I didn’t hide it, I’m not ashamed.  I honestly don’t understand why they thought it odd.

Very soon Bayani and I will celebrate our fourteenth anniversary.  And for those of you who have not yet read my bio, I met her in high-school.  I was eighteen when we met, and I just turned thirty six.  I have now spent more than half my life with the woman I love.

And she is still as awesome as ever.  Awesomer.  And I get to flirt with her.

So why was it so humorous, that after fourteen years of marriage, we still flirt?  When every day I see people getting divorced for stupid reasons, or getting hitched for even dumber ones.  Bayani’s mother just got married for the fourth time.  Well, fifth time, to the fourth man.  The second marriage was not legal as the husband’s divorce was not complete, so she had to marry him again.  Sixty years old and married to four men.

Most of the people I know can’t even stay in a dating relationship long enough to fight over the position of the toilet seat, let alone stay married.

But I digress, I will save my marriage rant for closer to my actual anniversary(I will say this, to the assholes in Congress: gay marriage is not a threat to your precious white-christian-upper-middle-class lifestyle, any more than interracial marriage is, you backwards-thinking bible-thumping bigots[oh, wait, you fucktards opposed interracial marriage too]).  No, I want to talk about flirting.

I love flirting.

It’s a way of indulging your fantasies, without actually indulging.  It’s a way of keeping a relationship alive and vibrant long after others have since turned to dust.

I flirt with girls on the internet.  I flirt with cashiers.  I flirt with the milfs as I drop off my kid at school.  I thought I was flirting with Kasini back in school, but must not have been very good at it(I must have taken a -6 penalty for having external genitalia).  I flirt with my friends, the ones without external genitalia.  And I’ve been flirting with my wife for more than half my life.

Neither of us take the other for granted; not the person, nor their presence.  I do not assume that Bayani will always be there.  I have not let myself go.  I let her know every damn day how much I love her, how much I appreciate her, and just how damned sexy she is.  I love flirting with her.  Many times, I get hard just from our playful banter.

Keeping this kind of playfulness and sexiness in our relationship is not something I have to work at.  I just do it.  Always have.  I know I’ve not always been very good at it, but then, is skill required or enthusiasm?  There was a period when every time we would go shopping, Bayani would burst out laughing once we left the store.  She would then tell me, between bouts of giggles, that I had been flirting with the cute cashier, and she was flirting back.  I never realized it, I just thought I was being friendly.  I would sometimes find phone numbers scribbled on receipts.  I never knew.

There is a lot I had never realized, and if I could go back and live my life over, I would rule as a god.

But I can’t.  So I flirt harmlessly instead with strangers and friends, anybody with a great set of– eyes.  Or glasses, I like glasses on girls.  Tattoos, piercings, oddly colored hair, you get the idea.  And my wife.

Fourteen years of marriage, and we still flirt.  And giggle and have tickle fights and sneak kisses when no-one is looking.  We hold hands when walking(when we don’t have one or more kids in between).  We still whisper naughty little things in each other’s ears.

And I hope, I pray, I work every damn day, to make sure I get to flirt with her for another thirty six years.

6 Responses to “Still Flirting After All These Years”

  1. Bayani March 6, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    Aw. *blush* I love you too babe. Keep flirting, you know I love it!

  2. Kasini March 8, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    you two are just adorable. It’s so nice to see such a healthy relationship up close.

    • Myrddwn March 9, 2011 at 12:37 am #

      Sickening, isn’t it?

      • Kasini March 9, 2011 at 12:44 am #

        yeah, pretty much.

      • Myrddwn March 9, 2011 at 9:10 am #

        We would be intolerable, if we didn’t have a little perv in there to spice things up. We might be a little vanilla, but if we are, then we are French Vanilla-Bean Double-Cream Slow-Churned. Kinda plain, but VERY good. With nuts, caramel and chocolate sauce, whipped cream sprinkles and a good handful of cherries on top.
        Crap, now I don’t know if I want a threesome or icecream….

  3. Kurt March 12, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Excellent, sir… very well written.

Leave a Reply

